2014 Primetime Emmy Award Winners Announced

by Shilo Adams 715 views0


emmysThe 2014 Primetime Emmy Awards were handed out on Monday and leading the way were Sherlock, Breaking Bad, and Modern Family. Sherlock garnered some unexpected momentum during the Creative Arts Emmys and managed to capitalize on that in the form of three wins, while Breaking Bad suffered one loss in the main telecast drama categories and Modern Family picked up Outstanding Comedy Series for the fifth consecutive year.

Other winners on the night included Jessica Lange, Kathy Bates, and Allison Janney.

You can check out a list of winners from the Creative Arts Emmys here, as well as a list of winners from the main telecast below.

What do you think about the 2014 Emmy winners? Which category is in the biggest need of a nomination shakeup? Who do you expect to be the favorites at next year’s ceremony?

Outstanding Drama Series
Breaking Bad ***WINNER***
Downton Abbey
Game of Thrones
House of Cards
Mad Men
True Detective

Outstanding Comedy Series
The Big Bang Theory
Modern Family
Orange Is the New Black
Silicon Valley

Outstanding Miniseries
American Horror Story: Coven
Bonnie & Clyde
Fargo ***WINNER***
The White Queen

Outstanding Television Movie
Killing Kennedy
Muhammad Ali’s Greatest Fight
The Normal Heart ***WINNER***
Sherlock: “His Last Vow”
The Trip to Bountiful

Outstanding Variety Series
The Colbert Report ***WINNER***
The Daily Show with Jon Stewart
Jimmy Kimmel Live
Real Time with Bill Maher
Saturday Night Live
The Tonight Show with Jimmy Fallon

Outstanding Reality-Competition Program
The Amazing Race ***WINNER***
Dancing with the Stars
Project Runway
So You Think You Can Dance
Top Chef
The Voice

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series
Bryan Cranston – Breaking Bad ***WINNER***
Jeff Daniels – The Newsroom
Jon Hamm – Mad Men
Woody Harrelson – True Detective
Matthew McConaughey – True Detective
Kevin Spacey – House of Cards

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Drama Series
Lizzy Caplan – Masters of Sex
Claire Danes – Homeland
Michelle Dockery – Downton Abbey
Julianna Margulies – The Good Wife ***WINNER***
Kerry Washington – Scandal
Robin Wright – House of Cards

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series
Louis C.K. – Louie
Don Cheadle – House of Cards
Ricky Gervais – Derek
Matt LeBlanc – Episodes
William H. Macy – Shameless
Jim Parsons – The Big Bang Theory ***WINNER***

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Comedy Series
Lena Dunham – Girls
Edie Falco – Nurse Jackie
Julia Louis-Dreyfus – Veep ***WINNER***
Melissa McCarthy – Mike & Molly
Amy Poehler – Parks & Recreation
Taylor Schilling – Orange Is the New Black

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Miniseries or Movie
Benedict Cumberbatch – Sherlock: “His Last Vow” ***WINNER***
Chiwetel Ejiofor – Dancing on the Edge
Idris Elba – Luther
Martin Freeman – Fargo
Mark Ruffalo – The Normal Heart
Billy Bob Thornton – Fargo

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Miniseries or Movie
Helena Bonham Carter – Burton & Taylor
Minnie Driver – Return to Zero
Jessica Lange – American Horror Story: Coven ***WINNER***
Sarah Paulson – American Horror Story: Coven
Cicely Tyson – The Trip to Bountiful
Kristen Wiig – The Spoils of Babylon

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series
Jim Carter – Downton Abbey
Josh Charles – The Good Wife
Peter Dinklage – Game of Thrones
Mandy Patinkin – Homeland
Aaron Paul – Breaking Bad ***WINNER***
Jon Voight – Ray Donovan

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series
Christine Baranski – The Good Wife
Joanne Froggatt – Downton Abbey
Anna Gunn – Breaking Bad ***WINNER***
Lena Headey – Game of Thrones
Christina Hendricks – Mad Men
Maggie Smith – Downton Abbey

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series
Fred Armisen – Portlandia
Andre Braugher – Brooklyn Nine-Nine
Ty Burrell – Modern Family ***WINNER***
Adam Driver – Girls
Jesse Tyler Ferguson – Modern Family
Tony Hale – Veep

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series
Mayim Bialik – The Big Bang Theory
Julie Bowen – Modern Family
Anna Chlumsky – Veep
Allison Janney – Mom ***WINNER***
Kate McKinnon – Saturday Night Live
Kate Mulgrew – Orange Is the New Black

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Miniseries or Movie
Matt Bomer – The Normal Heart
Martin Freeman – Sherlock: “His Last Vow” ***WINNER***
Colin Hanks – Fargo
Joe Mantello – The Normal Heart
Alfred Molina – The Normal Heart
Jim Parsons – The Normal Heart

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Miniseries or Movie
Angela Bassett – American Horror Story: Coven
Kathy Bates – American Horror Story: Coven ***WINNER***
Ellen Burstyn – Flowers in the Attic
Frances Conroy – American Horror Story: Coven
Julia Roberts – The Normal Heart
Allison Tolman – Fargo

Outstanding Writing for a Drama Series
“Felina” – Breaking Bad (Vince Gilligan)
“Ozymandias” – Breaking Bad (Moira Walley-Beckett) ***WINNER***
“The Children” – Game of Thrones (David Benioff & D. B. Weiss)
“Chapter 14” – House of Cards (Beau Willimon)
“The Secret Fate of All Life” – True Detective (Nic Pizzolatto)

Outstanding Writing for a Comedy Series
“Episode Five” – Episodes (David Crane & Jeffrey Klarik)
“So Did the Fat Lady” – Louie (Louis C.K.) ***WINNER***
“I Wasn’t Ready” – Orange Is the New Black (Liz Friedman & Jenji Kohan)
“Optimal Tip-to-Tip Efficiency” – Silicon Valley (Alec Berg)
“Special Relationship” – Veep (Simon Blackwell, Armando Iannucci, & Tony Roche)

Outstanding Writing for a Miniseries, Movie, or Dramatic Special
“Bitchcraft” – American Horror Story: Coven (Ryan Murphy & Brad Falchuk)
“The Crocodile’s Dilemma” – Fargo (Noah Hawley) ***WINNER***
Luther (Neil Cross)
The Normal Heart (Larry Kramer)
Sherlock: “His Last Vow” (Steven Moffat)
“…To Miss New Orleans” – Treme (David Simon & Eric Overmeyer)

Outstanding Writing for a Variety Special
67th Tony Awards
71st Golden Globe Awards
The Beatles: The Night That Changed America
Billy Crystal: 700 Sundays
Sarah Silverman: We Are Miracles ***WINNER***

Outstanding Directing for a Drama Series
“Farewell Daddy Blues” – Boardwalk Empire (Tim Van Patten)
“Felina” – Breaking Bad (Vince Gilligan)
“Episode One” – Downton Abbey (David Evans)
“The Watchers on the Wall” – Game of Thrones (Neil Marshall)
“Chapter 14” – House of Cards (Carl Franklin)
“Who Goes There” – True Detective (Cary Joji Fukunaga) ***WINNER***

Outstanding Directing for a Comedy Series
“Episode Nine” – Episodes (Iain B. McDonald)
“100” – Glee (Paris Barclay)
“Elevator, Part 6” – Louie (Louis C.K.)
“Las Vegas” – Modern Family (Gail Mancuso) ***WINNER***
“Lesbian Request Denied” – Orange Is the New Black (Jodie Foster)
“Minimum Viable Product” – Silicon Valley (Mike Judge)

Outstanding Directing for a Miniseries, Movie, or Dramatic Special
“Bitchcraft” – American Horror Story: Coven (Alfonso Gomez-Rejon)
“Buridan’s Ass” – Fargo (Colin Bucksey) ***WINNER***
“The Crocodile’s Dilemma” – Fargo (Adam Bernstein)
Muhammad Ali’s Greatest Fight (Stephen Frears)
The Normal Heart (Ryan Murphy)
Sherlock: “His Last Vow” (Nick Hurran)

Outstanding Directing for a Variety Special
The Beatles: The Night That Changed America (Gregg Gelfand)
86th Academy Awards (Hamish Hamilton)
The Kennedy Center Honors (Louis J. Horvitz)
Six by Sondheim (James Lapine)
The Sound of Music Live! (Beth McCarthy-Miller & Rob Ashford)
67th Tony Awards (Glenn Weiss) ***WINNER***